ICD Announces Recipients of the 2015 ICD Fellowship Awards

Bird's Board member, Bonnie DuPont, has been announced as a recipient of the 2015 Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) Fellowship Award. Congratulations, Bonnie! Announcement below:

Five directors recognized for fostering excellence in the boardroom

The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD), Canada's national association representing directors and boards, is pleased to announce that the recipients of the 2015 ICD Fellowship Awards are:

  • Mr. Jim Dinning, LL.D, ICD.D – Chair, Western Financial Group, Russel Metals Inc. and Liquor Stores NA Ltd 
  • Ms. Bonnie DuPont, M.Ed, ICD.D – Chair, University of Calgary; Director, NAV Canada and Bird Construction 
  • Ms. Alice Laberge – Director, RBC, PotashCorp. and Russel Metals Inc. 
  • Mr. John LeBoutillier, CM – Chair, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc. 
  • Ms. Monique F. Leroux, CM, OQ, FCPA, FCA – Chair, President and CEO, Desjardins 

Launched in 1997, the ICD Fellowship Awards recognizes excellence and leadership in the boardroom. Earning the designation of F.ICD, this year's Fellows join a prestigious group comprising seasoned Canadian directors such as Tom O'Neill, Chair of BCE and Bell Canada and Scotiabank, Eileen Mercier, immediate Past Chair of OTPP and Barry Jackson, Chair of TransCanada. To date, the ICD has granted 73 Fellowship Awards.

"The ICD Fellowship Award is one of the highest honours for Canadian directors. It represents an acknowledgment from our peers of personal and professional achievement in board leadership, which in turn contributes to successful company performance," said Ian Bourne, Chair of the ICD Fellowship Awards Selection Committee and an ICD Fellow from 2011.

Nominated by their peers, the ICD Fellows are selected by an independent committee based on criteria such as leadership, accountability, contributions to governance and effectiveness. The significant contribution of these directors to the boards of not-for-profit organizations was also considered by the committee. The selection committee is composed of senior directors and past Fellows: Françoise Bertrand, Ian Bourne, Beverley Briscoe, Mary Mogford and John Thompson.
Icd Announces Recipients Of The 2015 Icd Fellowship Awards : News & Media : Bird Construction